Countdowns 10, 9, 8

I wIll be home a week from today, Monday 3/18. I plan to thoroughly enjoy my last week in Turkey and Greece, but am also looking forward to being home. I an effort to share some broad brushstrokes, and my excitement about being home, here are some countdown lists (expect one a day til return!)

3/9 COUNTDOWN
10 things I have been most excited about/ grateful for:
10-Trust, being able to trust God…. And the process!
9-freedom: to be on the journey, to travel freely, to choose what I believe, who I marry, what I wear…
8-iPad–for emailing, blogging, skyping, kindle, games, etc…
7-Jesus’ enduring presence and love, how I’m never alone, and how it connects me to people worldwide
6-amazing sites: Great Wall, beaches, Milford Sound, Taj Mahal
5-swimming with dolphins, time with elephants, penguins, and other cool animals
4-HEALTH :). So, India did a bit of damage to my back, it’s been a little sore, but otherwise… So grateful for health of back, bowels, body overall!
3-perfect timing (flights being moved, just in time for something. A person to share a car)
2-new people! One time conversations and lifetime friends, they’ve all been amazing
#1-my friends and family’s love as I travel (and staying connected). That they, relationships, are HOME….

3/10 COUNTDOWN
9 moments to remember fondly…
1- tickling kids at Asha house until we all giggle ourselves to the floor
2-any number of meals shared with ‘strangers’
3-sleeping on the top bunk of a railway car
4-being stared at, always…
5-praying for the ladies in the Bhatt community
6–Alli’s face when she realized how I could contribute to Hard Places
7-each time a kindness was extended (meals paid for, doors opened, someone to interpret language couchsurfing..)
8-swimming with the dolphins
9-SCUBA diving in Koi Phi Phi

3/11 COUNTDOWN
8 words or phrases I could carry forward…
8-ish, used in Swazi as ‘geez, really, wow, ….’
7-Mia didi, in Hindi, my sister (deedee is pronunciation)
6-auntie/uncle, in India, to address older woman or man
5-good on ya, NZ
4-atcha, Hindi for ‘okay, got it, uh-huh’
3-xiexie, thank you in Chinese
2-Akhun, thank you in Khmer
1-cheers! s.Africa, NZ

Constantly changing languages has been one of the more challenging aspects of the trip. In my first few countries I made a great effort to learn phrases, and quickly learned that Hello and thank you are the mos important. Interestingly, some languages don’t even have a ‘please’. In Chinese, one just makes a command phrase. And saying ‘God Bless You’, although like a knee reflex for me, is not normal in many countries either… I will share more on language in a later blog, but these are a few of the things that stand out :).

What’s a countdown you’d like to see??

About dianar513

God-loving, world-exploring, musical, and adventuring gal :). Taking a year off from my school social work job to chase the things of God, try on some other experiences, and see what's next!
This entry was posted in RoundTheWorld, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Countdowns 10, 9, 8

  1. Tom Rarich says:

    most amazing sights countdown would be great

  2. Lisa P says:

    Unexpected moments when God revealed himself in a new or fresh way……

  3. anne rarich says:

    Countdown of moments of grace……

Leave a Reply

