Takeoff, grounded, appointed times…

So, I headed to the airport Friday night at midnight, seeing that my flight had been delayed two hours.  I was excited, geared up, and rested (even had a little nap after watching We Bought a Zoo–great movie).  When I got to the counter, Spirit Airlines informed me that I would not be on the plane (even though I was two hours before the posted departure).  I was upset, concerned, and worried about not arriving with the other project leader.  I believed I was supposed to be down there… and yet, there was a piece of me which felt maybe not.  I realized that with a short layover, there was a strong possibility that I would have been stuck in Florida for 23 hours until the next flight to Haiti, and I would rather be here in Colorado.  So I just asked Jesus for a miracle, standing with the other 5 people who weren’t going to make it on the plane.

His miracle this weekend was me not getting on that originally planned flight.  I saw his provision in a friend picking me up (at 3:30am!!) and letting me sleep on their couch…  I saw divine timing in the opportunities for deep and meaningful conversations (and prayer).  I experienced humor and absurdity when I was peed on by a dog, and then our car ran out of gas!!  Then, after running out of gas, the person who brought me to buy a tank needs a job and I may have a connection for him.  Lastly, and most significantly, I was able to be with my congregation, and receive prayer for my time in Haiti, as well as be present for a significant ministry time for a dear friend.

There are appointed times in life, though often not scheduled by us in the specific sense (on our calendar).  Yesterday was such a time, and I am looking forward to so many of them on this upcoming trip.  If you have had such an unplanned encounter lately, would you share it?  I am always blessed by hearing what is happening for others.

About dianar513

God-loving, world-exploring, musical, and adventuring gal :). Taking a year off from my school social work job to chase the things of God, try on some other experiences, and see what's next!
This entry was posted in Listening. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Takeoff, grounded, appointed times…

  1. Sarah Gates says:

    your blog posting was an unplanned gift today. 🙂 thank you, Di and thank you, God.

  2. anne rarich says:

    You will be daily in my prayers. It was so wonderful to see and hear you share your adventures in Haiti yesterday. What a gift! Hoping the next leg of your trip goes smoothly and gives you time for some much needed quiet and rest.
    Love,MOM

  3. Mary V. Nelson says:

    My kind of gal — forever the optimist looking on the bright side of things and seeing your way through apparent discouragement. Ready, get set, GO…. you’re well on your way to a great adventure!

Leave a Reply

