Responses to tragedy, 81 hours til takeoff…

Last Friday our country experienced another horrific tragedy, and my heart goes out to the children lost, their families and the communities impacted do deeply.  This crisis brought up questions I’ve had repeatedly since I decided to do this trip: I sometimes find myself wondering if this trip makes sense; If it is selfish; If it is a good time to be away from people I love (is there ever)??  If it will impact the world?….  Maybe not ‘THE WORLD’, but at least a person here and there….  At times, it makes me feel guilty that I have this opportunity, but then I consider–can I do it for them?  I can make this journey, give my heart and love and learn and grow along the way, and shine a light for them.  I am living for today, and loving along the way, and I trust this is a proper way to honor the memory of young lives lost.  So, for each of the children whose necks can no longer be squeezed with a hug on this earth, I will go give that hug to a child in Cambodia, India, or Swazilann….

My first week of the RTW (round-the-world) trip is actually in Haiti, serving as a project leader with Adventures in Missions.  You can follow our team blog by going to this link.  I am talking with many of my teammates, and they are all getting excited (as am I!).  The ‘practice-pack’ (yes, just practicing putting everything in my one bag) last week went well, and I am glad I did that before packing for Haiti.  I will come home for 1/1/13, and then leave again 1/2/13 (unpacking, laundry, and re-packing).  This is helpful, as I need a tent and sleeping pad in haiti, which I don’t need for the RTW.

Today as I was connecting with a possible ministry partner, he asked me ‘why our organization?’, there are so many in this country.  My answer was that I like to continue relationships, and where I have seen God working, I will sow into those things.   He also asked about this blog: “How many followers do you have?”.  Which at this time is only 14 (although 58 of you read the 12/10 blog, so please remember to go to the lower right hand corner and ‘subscribe/follow’, and share!)  Thanks, by the way, for being on this journey with me!!

Today I did logistical things:

  • printed out flight info and contact names
  • insured my car as ‘stored’
  • contacted banks about being in various countries
  • laundry
  • paid bills for next 3 months
  • set up my skype account….

imagesAnd in the next three days I have a few other things to do–but mostly, I want to pray.  I want to worship…. His love never fails (click on link for amazing worship song!!)….  and this is a journey of arms wide open.  Woo–hooo. I am so grateful!!  ‘(God’s love) It overwhelms and satisfies my soul’Diana atop a 14er

I will climb this mountain with my hands wide open…

I lean not on my own understanding, because if He has given me life, it would’ve been enough….  And the maker of heaven and earth is giving me this trip.   May I serve and represent him well.  What causes you to say ‘I lean not on my own understanding?’  or ‘nothing I hold onto’ this week?

About dianar513

God-loving, world-exploring, musical, and adventuring gal :). Taking a year off from my school social work job to chase the things of God, try on some other experiences, and see what's next!
This entry was posted in Listening, RoundTheWorld, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Responses to tragedy, 81 hours til takeoff…

  1. Sarah Gates says:

    I do not say “I do not lean on my own understanding” enough. Not nearly enough. I have been waiting for someone in my life to take action in order to help my family live in what I thought would be a more stable, permanent place/situation. Somehow I have felt like we are just waiting, waiting, waiting until all the factors are “just right” before I would have the energy and clarity to really live the life God has in store for me. By reading your blog, I now realize that I have been all wrong. now is now. there is no waiting. Being where I am now should not get in my way to let go and listen to what God is telling me. I need to press the pause button on my focus on what I think needs to happen. I need to stop thinking that I can’t begin living my calling and sharing my gifts until x, y, z happens. I need to stop leaning on my own understandings….this will bring me freedom and more clarity.
    Thanks Di! xxoo

  2. Tom Rarich says:

    Best wishes for a wonderful journey.
    Dad

  3. Anna Corder says:

    Hello my dear friend!!

    For some reason, I can’t seem to subscribe to the blog but I’ve added it to my home screen and will be checking it often!

    I’m praying for you and for the divine connections that you’ll make on this trip! I KNOW THAT YOU’LL BE IN EXACTLY THE RIGHT PLACE AT EXACTLY THE RIGHT TIME…because that’s our God and you are on a mission propelled by Him! I am praying for you, I love you and I can’t wait to follow your amazing journey!

Leave a Reply

