Preparations and awareness…

As I went home for thanksgiving, I was grateful for so much… I am blessed to have the money to go visit family I am blessed to have friends in multiple places, and I am fortunate to have the freedom right now to take a whole week there :).

Funny, as I prepare for the journey of a lifetime, a Kingdom Journey, to be sure… It causes me to also reflect on journeys I have already taken. It causes me, as I prepare to be in other cultures, to evaluate and scriutinize my own.,.. The ease with which certain aspects of daily life currently occur to me is no longer simply in the background. I find that just brushing my teeth in my bathroom, going to the cupboard, and sleeping in a familiar bed have an oddly crisper feel to them. The familiar, predictable, and controlled rhythms I am used have risen to a new volume. These routines and sounds, smells and sights are no longer quiet, and unnoticed. They are a brighter tapesty, the canvas on which my future experiences and travels will be painted and written.

One of my favorite all-time scenes is the one in the movie “August Rush” where August is playing the guitar for the first time, and the innateness of that interaction between him and the instrument is similar to what happens to us in the world as humans, after interacting with certain things, places, people, etc… we get so comfortable. We can make a beautiful song. I Am excited about this trip–beause I am ready to get uncomfortable. I am ready to not be in control, and to fall back on trust… to trust God, to trust humanity, to trust the process ;)….

11 days and counting!
What rhythm or comfort in your life do you want to pay attention to anew?

About dianar513

God-loving, world-exploring, musical, and adventuring gal :). Taking a year off from my school social work job to chase the things of God, try on some other experiences, and see what's next!
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Preparations and awareness…

  1. Wendy says:

    I hope you have a great journey and I know you will keep us posted.!

  2. Cheryl Jackson says:

    Enjoy the journey, enjoy the uncertainty, and enjoy every moment knowing you are not alone…He is with you!

  3. Kir says:

    I don’t know if you changed this or what, but I LOVE The snowflakes falling in the picture at the top of your page! 🙂
    I admire your bravery to venture into the unknown Sis, and love you more than words can say. I will be keeping virtual track of you throughout your journey and praying for your safe return!
    LOVE

    • dianar513 says:

      Thanks, Sis–the flakes are actually a WordPress feature ;)… cool, huh? Thanks so much for your encouragement and love, I only wish you could come with me! Love you tons!! ❤

Leave a Reply

