Round the World travel!

So, update on the back–it is continuing to heal ‘on schedule’.   There is still some pain, but less than before surgery, and I have another month until the ‘all-clear’.  Thanks for the continued prayers for healing…
But in other news–here is the latest on my round-the-world (RTW) travel!!!
WHY travel around the world??  I have always loved travel, and I have thought of a RTW trip as a possibility for at least 5-8 years.  Then, last year I took a sabbatical from my school social work job, and was considering where to travel (thinking of Kilimajaro), and my back injury occurred.  As a result, Kili was out, and then I realized I have been hoarding my miles (and credit card miles–which I pay off each month) for about 15 years.  Low and behold—I have enough to travel around the world for merely airport fees and taxes!!  SOO.. why not.  Then, when I prayed about it (because everything in my life goes though the Big Guy’s approval), I sensed God in prayer say ‘remember that trip from MA to CO’ (which was a month long-driving across the US).  I remember it fondly, Abba…  And then I sensed “let’s go adventuring again!!”. SO.. that was a green light, and many folks I received counsel from sensed the same thing–that this is a season for new things.  I have been blessed to see many other aspects and details that will support this trip continue to come together (getting a roommate, connections to people in these countries, financial/work provisions).
WHAT will you do traveling around the world??  I am going to sightsee and play tourist, but I am more interested in connecting with the people and experiencing the culture interactively.  Yes, I do want to see many things, but I also want to serve (at orphanages, at clinics, or ministries helping women get out of sex slavery…)
See the world
Serve the world
Connect with and leave the people touched (via massage, orphanage work, or other opportunities God brings up!)
WHEN I am leading an Adventures in Missions trip from Dec 26-31 in Haiti, so I will come home briefly, and then be traveling January 2, 2013 through March 19, 2013
WHERE–My flight itinerary has me flying first to China, and I will travel over land to Singapore via Vietnam, Laos, Thailand, and Malaysia.  Flying from Singapore to New Zealand (Auckland), then to Japan (Tokyo), India (Delhi), South Africa (Johannesberg), and ending in Turkey/Greece (Istanbul).
HOW can you be involved: Well, most importantly, I would like people to pray for the travels, that I am where God wants me to be, and that the things He wants me to do are what I am up to :).    If you know of people or ministries in these areas, please let me know!  I have some connections, but am hoping to spend most of my nights as a ‘couchsurfer’ or in homes..  I would like to spend 40-50% of my time serving in the areas I visit, and while I do have some connections through AIM, I’m open to more.  Friends, organizations, etcetera.  Lastly, if you feel led to contribute financially to this Kingdom Journey, I know there will be needs along the way that I could apply that towards (congregations, individuals, etcetera).
I will be keeping folks up to date with my travels mostly through this blog–so please subscribe, so you don’t miss any postings!!  I will plan on putting pictures and stories up there along the way…
RTW runner
About dianar513

God-loving, world-exploring, musical, and adventuring gal :). Taking a year off from my school social work job to chase the things of God, try on some other experiences, and see what's next!
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

