Surrender and surgery

So, my back injury began six months ago…  A ruptured disc in my L5-S1 (low back), and I have been engaged in physical therapy, massage, chiropractic, acupuncture, supplements and other self-care since then.  I have even received two steroid injections to the site, in hopes that I could avoid surgery.   Well, unfortunately, my back has not responded to this approach, and I am undergoing surgery this Wednesday to cut out the ‘excess’ disc tissue where it doesn’t belong (pressing up against my spinal nerves).

I surrender to the surgeons skill, but mostly I surrender to the GREAT surgeon.  My prayer is that the surgeons hands are like gloves on the Father’s, that my God is actually just using an assistant to heal me :).

Never having had surgery before, there is obviously a measure of concern, but I also have confidence that I did everything I could.  I have peace that this is the next step, and I have gratitude that my mom will be right outside the door…  There’s just nothing like a parent’s presence in times of struggle.

The team I have worked with for 7 years in Jeffco heads back to work this week, and I won’t be reporting with them, because this is the beginning of my sabbatical year.  It is an odd thing to not be coordinating, planning, and supporting our students as another year starts.  I am excited about the course I will be teaching, and the other opportunities in front of me.

On another note, I am toilet-training my cats.  Yes, you read that right!  The product used to assist in this process is called a Litter Kwitter, and we’re still on phase one of 4, but I will keep you posted.  As I venture out on this change for the feline family members, I realize that we all can struggle with behavior change ;).  Whether it is the food we consume, sleeping more regularly and restoratively, or moving more regularly, it takes a commitment, and we need to realize there will be slips along the way (yes, the cats are having there share, it is like potty training a child!).  I’ll keep you posted on the progress..

Thanks for all the kind thoughts and prayers for my surgery, I will keep you posted!!

About dianar513

God-loving, world-exploring, musical, and adventuring gal :). Taking a year off from my school social work job to chase the things of God, try on some other experiences, and see what's next!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Surrender and surgery

  1. barb says:

    prayers for successful surgery and QUICK recovery…let me know if I can help in any way!!

Leave a Reply

